Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Earth Dragon

Resources List

 

Efficiency & Building Science

City Green Solutions   https://www.citygreen.ca

Natural Resources Canada - Guidebook: Keeping the Heat In  http://www.nrcan.gc.ca/kth

 

 Natural Building

Bruce King, PE  https://bruce-king.com/

Ecological Building Network   https://bruce-king.com/ecological-building-network

Ecosense   https://eco-sense.ca/

Endeavour Centre   http://endeavourcentre.org/

 

Renewable Energy

Jeremy Leggett   http://www.jeremyleggett.net/

Rocky Mountain Institute   https://rmi.org/

Canadian Solar Industries Association  http://www.cansia.ca/

Canadian Wind Energy Association   https://canwea.ca/

Centre for Alternative Technology  http://www.cat.org.uk/index.html

Hugh Piggot's Blog   http://scoraigwind.co.uk/contents/

Mick Sagrillo, Small Wind Toolbox   http://www.environment.nsw.gov.au/resources/eetp/WindD1S4P1Tool.pdf

 

Stewardship & Resiliency

Border Free Bees   http://borderfreebees.com/

Canadian Freshwater Alliance http://www.freshwateralliance.ca/

Canadian Organic Growers   https://www.cog.ca/

Pollinator Partnership Canada

Xerces Society   https://xerces.org/

 

 

 

 

Timber Frame

Natural wood supplied from local sustainably managed forests
supplied by Zirnheldt Timbrames
 
 

 

Straw Bale Infill Walls

Locally supplied organic straw
from the north okanagan
 
 
 

Clay Plaster

Shown:
2nd coat plaster.  Straw-fibre-reinforced plaster with additional seismic/wind load reinforcing mesh applied - building nearing completion

Clay Plaster

Clay soil harvested and processed on site makes up all exterior and most interior wall finishes

*Requirements and standards for petal status LBC certification have been stringently followed throughout construction, but for personal reasons, certification may yet not be pursued; decision is pending.